Connect with us

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

Briggs & Stratton Classes Battle Wet & Dry Conditions in CRFKC Finale


Briggs & Stratton Classes Battle Wet & Dry Conditions in CRFKC Finale

Saturday night was the finale of the 2015 Champion Ron Fellows Karting Challenge at Goodwood Kartways. 127 karters were on hand to endure the cold and wet conditions while racing under the lights, proving it to be a very difficult day of racing. CKN’s Neelan Nadesan was on hand once again to catch all the highlight’s from this weekend’s race.

CRFKC: 127 entries are on hand to close out the Champion Ron Fellow Karting Challenge tonight at Goodwood Kartways. Keep…

Posted by Canadian Karting News on Saturday, September 12, 2015

Click here for the CRFKC Rotax Max Report

Briggs & Stratton Novice

Fast Qualifier: Anthony Boscia
Prefinal Winner: Anthony Boscia

The Briggs & Stratton Novice final was dominated by Anthony Boscia (Birel) as the young driver simply drove away from the the rest of the Novice drivers in the category. Brayden Lindgren (Arrow) and Liam Cusack (K&K Kart) had a great battle for the second position all race long with Lidgren eventually taking the position. Lily Flintoff, who was the points leader coming into this weekend’s race, was out on the first lap, allowing the championship to race winner Anthony Boscia.

Briggs & Stratton Junior Lite

Fast Qualifier: Logan Ploder
Prefinal Winner: Gianluca Savaglio

Gianluca Savaglio (Intrepid) dominated the Briggs & Stratton Junior Lite final taking a six-second lead over his nearest competitor to win the final. Liam Rhodes (Ultra Kart) drove from fifth on the grid to take second ahead of Kai Daziel (Intrepid). It was a tough race for the fast qualifier Logan Ploder (Intrepid) as he fell from second on the start to fourth in the final. JR Lindgren (K&K Kart) would complete the top five. Savaglio claimed the Championship in the category after winning most of the races this season. It should be fun to see him race against the best in Briggs & Stratton Junior next season.

Briggs & Stratton Junior

Fast Qualifier: Gavin Sanders
Prefinal Winner: Gavin Sanders

Gavin Sanders (Kosmic) took the holeshot going into the first Corner of the Briggs & Stratton Junior final ahead of Zachary Latimer (K&K Kart) and Tanner Hamilton (Intrepid). These three would not be alone however as Joshua Conquer (TonyKart), who elected to run rain tires in the mixed conditions, was on the move from fifth. By lap two Conquer was in second place right behind the race leader Sanders. Three laps later Conquer made the pass for first and held it for the remainder of the final. Sanders finished in second postion ahead of Tanner Hamilton, Tyler McCullough and Zachary Latimer. By finishing third Hamilton became the class champion for 2015.

Briggs & Stratton Senior

Fast Qualifier: Michael Glaze
Prefinal Winner: Michael Glaze

Michael Glaze (BirelART) was the driver to beat heading into the Briggs & Stratton final as he was quick in the dry for the Qualifying and the Prefinal. Once the final rolled around with the wet conditions it was Marco Signoretti (Energy Kart) who took the win after getting around Glaze on lap two. Glaze settled to finish second for the second time Saturday after losing the morning race by two-thousandths of a second to Frank Launi. Christopher Proietto had a great race in the final after taking third from fifth in the start. Kyle Edgar (BirelART) and Chad Campbell (GP Kart) competed the top five. This year’s National Champion in the class Jonathon Treadwell (K&K Kart) took home his second Championship of the year after having a great run in the championship.

Briggs & Stratton Masters

Fast Qualifier: Rudy Aguiar
Prefinal Winner: Marc Stehle

The Briggs & Stratton Masters final was very eventful as it started to rain when the drivers were on track. Eli Yanko (FA Kart) took the early lead in the final ahead of Hoss Gifford and and Quinn Dewsburry. Many drivers who were in the front of the field fell to the back after a very chaiotic first corner. Mike Rogers (K&K Kart) and Dave Anderson (Intrepid) had impressive runs through the field coming from tenth and eighth at the start to catch Yanko in the closing laps of the final. With five laps left in the race Rogers and Anderson drove by Yanko to take first and second in the final with Yanko finishing third. Stephen Goebel and Kyle Aulenback completed the top five.

The inaugural season for the Champion Ron Fellows Karting Challenge was a proven success, with excellent entries and superb racing at all four events. Look for more excitement to come for 2016 from the series organizers.

Rotax report to come on Tuesday.

To Top