Connect with us
PSL Karting

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

Alberta Summer Challenge: Summer Challenge races decided on a cool Sunday afternoon

Latest News

Alberta Summer Challenge: Summer Challenge races decided on a cool Sunday afternoon

Race winners were decided on a cool Sunday afternoon in Warburg as CKN’s Neelan Nadesan was on hand to cover all of the days Action.

Rotax Micro Max & Mini Max

In the Micro Max Prefinal Pole sitter, Shawn Kozma (TonyKart) had a carb issue at the start of the race which forced him to retire once the green flag flew. This gave the lead of the race and the eventual win the Darryen Hilwa (CRG). Silas Gershman and Max Power (CRG) completed the top three.

In the class’ final Kozma didn’t waste a minute to take the lead as he went from last to first in a lap and a corner after making a three wide pass on Power and Hliwa into turn one. From there Kozma pulled out to 30 second win in the final. The battle for second was close for majority of the race with Hliwa and Power battling for the position being closaely followed by Max  Pankewitz (TonyKart) and Gershman. Once the dust settled Hliwa took the spot ahead of Power Pankewitz and Gershman.


Mini Max Podium (Photo: Neelan Nadesan/CKN)

Ryan Dezall (TonyKart) dominated the Mini max Prefinal on Sunday morning. James Altamirano (CRG) finished the session in second ahead of Keifer Peet (CRG).

The final had the same result as the prefinal with Dezall, Altamirano and Peet taking the top three positions in the race. While Dezall drove away for the win. Altamirano had pressure from Peet early in the final until Peet started to fade late in the race.

Rotax Junior

Matthew Taskinen (Kosmic) had an impressive start taking the lead in turn 1 around the outside of Griffin Dowler (TonyKart). Taskinen’s lead would be short lived as Dowler was on it taking the lead back on lap two going into the first corner. Taskinen didn’t have anything for Dowler for the remainder of the race when the two settled for first and second. Christina Dezall (Kosmic) went from fifth to third on the start. She kept the spot all the way to the later stages of the race where she was caught and passed by Tyler Kozma (Kosmic) for the third position.


Griffin Dowler (Photo: Neelan Nadesan/CKN)

Sunday’s final felt more like a qualifying session with drivers all scattered around the track with minimal racing. Dowler has a solid performance and drove away from Taskinen at the midway point of the final to win the race. Taskinen and Kozma both remained in the same positions for the rest of the race as well. Levi Schmidtke (TonyKart) and Naila Deen (TonyKart) completed the top five.

Briggs & Stratton Senior

Skylar Dunning (K&K) took the whole shot into turn one as drivers in the outside row all capitalized at the start. Blair Kerenyi (CRG) went from sixth to second followed by Tanveer Deen (BirelART), and pole sitter Noel Dowler (TonyKart). Dowler was quick to drive his way back up front after passing Deen and Kerenyi on the second and third laps of the final then was able to erase the 1 second gap to leader Dunning by lap 5. On lap six Dowler took the lead and never looked back. Dunning looked like he would have something for Dowler but the TonyKart driver pulled away to a 2.5 second lead.


Noel Dowler (Photo: Neelan Nadesan/ CKN)

Kerenyi fell fast from third as Deen and Ryan Martin (Van Kart) passed him on lap 8. Martin hunted Deen during the final laps of the race but wasn’t able to make of move to get on the final step of the podium. Robin Henry (TonyKart) finished fifth in the final after being pressured by Coltin McCaughan (TonyKart) with two laps to go.

Rotax Senior

Coltin McCaughan (Kosmic) won the Rotax Senior Prefinal with Noel Dowler (TonyKart) and Skylar Dunning (Kosmic) following a few kart lengths behind.

In the Final McCaughan drove a flawless race pulling out to a five second lead by the time the checker flag few. Dowler sat in a comfortable second position, however his race ended early when his brake issues prevented him form continuing the race. This Promoted Dunning to second and also put Evan White Kosmic on the Final podium spot. Bradley Dezall (TonyKart) and Ryan Martin (TonyKart) completed the top five.


Coltin McCaughan (Photo: Neelan Nadesan/CKN)

Rotax Masters & Open Shifter

Rob Kozakowski (Kosmic) dominate the Rotax Masters final ahead of Craig Nernberg (TonyKart) and Angelo Amorim (TonyKart). For Kozakowski it was his second win of the weekend with the iron man competing in four classes.

In Shifter senior it was former SKUSA S5 front runner Evan White (Kosmic) taking the final victory followed by Blair Kerenyi (PCR) and Nick Wolodko (ItalKart).


To Top