Connect with us

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

SKUSA SN16: Ardigo wins his third SKUSA SuperNationals SuperPro title!

Latest News

SKUSA SN16: Ardigo wins his third SKUSA SuperNationals SuperPro title!

Every practice session was complete, every heat race was run, and every class had raced their Final, before the KZ2 SuperPro class hit the track for their SuperFinal! There was excitement in the air, and every person in the paddock found somewhere to stand along the fence lines and in the grandstands to catch the piece of the action.

Perfect in the heat races, Max Verstappen (PSL Karting/CRG) lined up on the pole-position with Martin Hajek (IPK North America/Praga) alongside. After one false start, the grid realigned and when the lights went out, Hajek scored the holeshot into turn one, with Verstappen and Marco Ardigo (TonyKart) in tow. Contact between USA’s Gary Carlton and Ron White on lap one forced them both out of the race, hurting America’s chances at a SuperNationals victory.

Up front, it didn’t take long for Verstappen to resume his usual position and retake the lead in corner one on lap two, and Ardigo followed suit a few corners later.

Heartbreak for Max Verstappen on lap three, as a blown spark plug boot forced him to the sidelines and out of contention for the victory, handing the lead to Ardigo.

Lap after lap, karts fell out of the race, with Ben Hanley (ART GP), Rick Dreezen (TonyKart), Zach Meyer (GP) and Nick Neri (TonyKart) to name a few.

With Ardigo in control, 2011 SuperPro winner Anthony Abbasse (Sodi-Kart) was making his move to the front, first working by Bas Lammers (IPK North America/Praga) for third, then Hajek for second by lap seventeen.

Doing everything he could Abbasse was inching towards Ardigo, but time ran out and Marco Ardigo scored his third SKUSA SuperNationals SuperPro victory! Hajek held on for third, Lammers was fourth and Jorrit Pex (PSL Karting/CRG) completed the podium. A great drive by Mirko Torsellini (TonyKart) saw him come home in sixth, just ahead of Fritz Leesmann (PSL Karting/CRG).

To Top