Connect with us

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

Rotax Grand Finals Qualifying: Ryan MacDermid on Pole in Rotax Junior!

Ryan MacDermid (Photo by: Cody Schindel / CKN)


Rotax Grand Finals Qualifying: Ryan MacDermid on Pole in Rotax Junior!

After five rounds of practice in mixed conditions, it was finally time to Qualifying in Italy for the 2016 Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals.

Canadians find themselves all over the grid with an outstanding final lap by Ryan MacDermid that earned him the pole-position in Rotax Junior, bettering 71 other competitors from around the world!

Disaster struck for Jeff Kingsley in Rotax DD2 as he was unable to put down a flying lap, pulling to the side the back straightaway with an issue. After pacing the final practice session, he wound up 58th overall and will start near the tail of the grid for each of his heats.

Scott Campbell topped the first group of Rotax DD2 Masters drivers, but in each class today, the second qualifying group enjoyed faster track conditions, meaning Campbell wound up fifth overall.

Don’t forget, you can watch the live stream of the Rotax Grand Finals on CKN! Click here

Below is a rundown of the qualifying results including how the Canadian’s faired.


1. Robert De Haan (NED)
2. Kris Haanan (NED)
3. Lorenzo Cioni (FRA)
4. James Egozi (USA)
5. Santiago Vallve (HUN)

24. Anthony Sardellitti (CAN)

Mini- Max

1. Mari Boya (ITA)
2. Johnny Edgar (GBR)
3. Kobe Pauwels (BEL)
4. Hadrian David (FRA)
5. Enzo Joulie (FRA)

21. Thomas Nepveu (CAN)

Junior Max

1. Ryan MacDermid (CAN)
2. Perdana Minang (INA)
3. Habiki Taira (JPN)
4. Titus-Shanghai Schmidli (SUI)
5. Marco Settimo (ITA)

6. Samuel Lupien (CAN)
18. Andres De Alba (CAN)
64. Matthew Taskinen (CAN)

Senior Max

1. Mario Novak (AUT)
2.Denis Mavlanov (RUS)
3. Nicholas Szabo (CZE)
4. Adrian Renaudin (FRA)
5. Javier Gonzalez (MEX)

12. Marco Di Leo (CAN)
31. Gianfranco Mazzaferro (CAN)
32. Coltin McCaughan (CAN)
37. Zachary Claman DeMelo (CAN)

DD2 Masters

1. Nicholas Verheul (RSA)
2. Fernando Guzzi (BRA)
3. Luis Schiavo (USA)
4. Michel Aboissa (BRA)
5. Scott Campbell (CAN)


1. Kasper Bielecki (POL)
2. Luca Munaretto (RSA)
3. Constantin Schoell (AUT)
4. Christian Sorensen (DEN)
5. Kevin Leudi (SUI)

7. Marco Signoretti (CAN)
35. Alessandro Bizzotto (CAN)
52. Tyler Kashak (CAN)
58. JeffreyKingsley (CAN)

To Top