Connect with us
Premier Karting

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

Rizk Goes Back-to-Back in Rotax DD2 at Canadian Open


Rizk Goes Back-to-Back in Rotax DD2 at Canadian Open

Third place finish for Pernod is enough to secure RGF ticket

For the second year in a row, Christophe Rizk is the Canadian Open Rotax DD2 Champion.

Tackling the Jim Russell Karting Academy in Mont-Tremblant, Rizk (ETI Racing/CL Kart) had his hands full with the Canadian Champion Gianluca Savaglio (VSR/Tonykart) all weekend long.

From the pole position, Rizk launched his DD2 machine to the lead through the opening corners of the race, but Savaglio pounced on his first opportunity to overtake and led lap one.

The pair had Lucas Pernod (BCR/BirelART) and Zack Lalonde (Premier/TonyKart) for company and the four-kart race was on.

On lap four Rizk had a huge tow down the back straight and went for it up the inside in corner thirteen, taking the lead from Savaglio.

Careful not to run wide, Savaglio lifted and tucked in behind and kept the pressure on the new race leader.

The lead three remained in line to the checkered with a few karts separating each of them.

Rizk took the win ahead of Savaglio and Pernod, with Pernod scoring the most points between the Open and Canadian Championship events to earn himself his first ticket to the Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals, joining Savaglio.

As the laps ticked away, Lalonde fell back from the leaders and eventually would be passed by Yuchen Ye (BCR/BirelART) just before the finish. However, Lalonde regained the spot after the race with a pushback penalty moving Ye back outside the top-five after charging forward from the rear in the Final.

Louka St-Jean (PSL/BirelART) ended up fifth after a late-race battle with Noel Dowler (Apollo-VSR/TonyKart).

Canadian Open Rotax DD2 Final Results

1Christophe Rizk
2Gianluca Savaglio0.388
3Lucas Pernod0.747
4Zack Lalonde6.740
5Louka St-Jean8.227
6Yuchen Ye8.703
7Noel Dowler8.738
8Brandon Stephens11.645
9Kevin Ignatowicz15.924
10Zephyrin Dupain16.374
11Felix Menard Labrecqu16.700
12Frederic Sylvestre18.541
13Zachary Stakenburg23.197
14Michael McLean43.496
15Steven Bastone49.297

To Top