Connect with us
Premier Karting

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

Nationals Preview: Micro-Max, Mini-Max & DD2 Masters


Nationals Preview: Micro-Max, Mini-Max & DD2 Masters

For Canadian kart racers there is no bigger week on the schedule than the ASN Canadian National Karting Championships and that week is finally here! Racers from across Canada are making their way to Mosport Kartways near Bowmanville, Ontario to compete for Canada’s ultimate title and the glory of being a National Champion. The week long event on the tricky 1.2KM track will be a true test in all categories where high speeds, deep braking zones and plenty of passing will keep drivers on their toes. The event officially kicks off on Friday with Pfaff SuperPole Qualifying. From there drivers will race in two heat races and a PreFinal before returning on Sunday to compete in the Canadian Championship Finals. It’s going to be an exciting week and for those who cannot attend, stay tuned to CKN all week long for full event coverage!

Official Event Page | Live Timing

To kickoff our coverage of Canada’s premier event, we will break down all ten classes competing this weekend, noting some of the favourites, dark horses and special appearances.

Rotax Micro-Max (Sponsored by: Ben Cooper Racing)

Defending Canadian Champion: Jeremy Tallon (Not competing) It’s been a great season of racing for the youngest competitors on the National stage. Rotax Micro-Max has provided excellent action and unpredictable results all season long. Unfortunately it appears that only drivers from the East will be competing this weekend with the only addition from ECKC competition being Georgie Zouein, the young Canadian driver who now resides in the United Arab Emirates.

Teammates Dale Curran and Justin Arseneau both have a pair of ECKC victories this season, but their speed has been so close that the two have also tangled a few times while battling for the lead. The pair will be fast at Mosport but have the likes of Ryland Duesburry, William Michaud and Marcello Paniccia to keep the competition close. Add in Zouein, Austin Boyle, Gabriel Savoie and Anthony Sardellitti and British Columbia’s Jason Leung, who is back for his second shot at the Nationals, and Micro-Max will be exciting every time they hit the track.

Unofficial Micro-Max Entry List:

Number Name Province Chassis
5 Adam Moor ON CRG
11 Ryland Duesburry ON Energy Corse
15 Gabriel Savoie QC FA Kart
19 Matthew Marrocco ON Intrepid
22 Lorenzo Morsillo ON Intrepid
23 Georgie Zouein CDN BirelART
29 Anthony Sardelletti ON Intrepid
33 Dale Curran ON BirelART
36 Justin Arseneau QC BirelART
46 William Michaud QC BirelART
59 Jason Leung BC BirelART
77 Marchello Panachia ON Intrepid

Rotax Mini-Max (Sponsored by: Karts & Parts)

Defending Canadian Champion: Alexandre Legare (Advanced to Rotax Junior) Like their younger brothers, Rotax Mini-Max has been nail biting all year long on both the East and West coasts. Some great talents are emerging every week and it will be great to see the best of both coasts together this week. We were hoping to see a few more western drivers make the trek, but nonetheless it will be a great week at Mosport.

No driver should be happier that the Championship Finale is on Sunday than Stefano Lucente. Coming up clutch at all three ECKC events this year with Sunday victories, Lucente looks to extend that streak and his impressive season this weekend. ECKC rivals Patrick Woods-Toth, Thomas Nepveu and Xavier Harris will also be in the hunt along with Marco Kacic, the British Columbia driver who has scored some impressive victories so far in 2015. The battle for the podium will for sure come down to the final laps where anything is possible in the class full of emerging talents ready to make the move to Junior.

Unofficial Mini-Max Entry List:

Number Name Province Chassis
119 Stefano Lucente ON CRG
124 Thomas Nepveu QC FA Kart
127 Eamon Lowe ON
144 Patrick Woods-Toth QC BirelART
151 Marco Kacic BC BirelART
172 Liam Rhodes ON Maranello
185 Tyler Kozma AB TonyKart
193 Xavier Harris ON Energy Kart
199 Gianluca Savaglio ON Intrepid

Rotax DD2 Masters (Sponsored by: PSL Karting)

Defending Canadian Champion: Francis Mondou (Competing) It may be small, but three previous Canadian Champions help make the competition in Rotax DD2 Masters very close. Defending Canadian Champion Francis Mondou is back and is still riding the high after winning at ECKC Mosport a month ago and has expressed that this will be his final race if he does not win.

2012 and 2013 Canadian Champion Stuart Clark is looking to regain the top step of the podium while Luc Sauriol, who also has a Rotax Grand Finals Masters Championship, has been on fire this season and is focused on another Canadian title and a trip to the Rotax Grand Finals in Portugal. These three are joined by Dany St-Hilaire, ECKC Goodwood winner John Cariati, Joe Crupi and Elvis Stojko, all of whom are ready to breakout and score a massive victory.

The tight-knit group is hopeful for some additional drivers this week to help showcase the great racing that is Rotax DD2 Masters.

Unofficial Rotax DD2 Masters Entry List:

Number Name Province Chassis
502 Luc Sauriol QC BirelART
507 Dany St-Hilaire QC BirelART
515 John Cariati ON Intrepid
521 Francis Mondou QC FA Kart
551 David Nevin ON Intrepid
589 Elvis Stojko ON Maranello
597 Stuart Clark ON Maranello
598 Joe Crupi ON Intrepid
Alessandro De Luca ON

Stay tuned to all week for full coverage of the 2015 ASN Canadian National Karting Championships.

To Top