Connect with us
SRA Karting

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

FWT: Kyle Kirkwood captures victory in ROK Senior; Eduardo Dieter Untouchable in ROK Masters

International News

FWT: Kyle Kirkwood captures victory in ROK Senior; Eduardo Dieter Untouchable in ROK Masters

The first race of the 2015 Florida Winter Tour finally kicked off at Homestead Karting facility. The FWT ROK Cup featured a full lineup of classes from Micro-ROK all the way to the resurgence of the 6-speed shifter karts, something that hasn’t been strong in East for a long time.

It was hot and sunny as per the norm in Homestead, Florida with drivers competing from different countries around the world.

Saturday Results | Saturday Photo Gallery |

ROK Senior

Christian Munoz (V Motorsport/TonyKart) posted a time of 46.720 to take the pole in ROK Senior Qualifying ahead of Kyle Kirkwood (OGP/TonyKart) and Gustavo Rafols (TonyKart). Andre Nicastro (Techspeed) was fourth in the session ahead of Ryan Norberg (Checkered Motorsports/PCR) who completed the top five.

Munoz lead majority of the prefinal in ROK Senior, as he was being hunted down by Kirkwood and Nicastro. On the final lap Kirkwood took the lead in the hairpin, but Munoz tried to counter in the next corner pushing both karts wide giving the lead and the race win to Nicastro. Morgan Healey (OGP/TonyKart) and Gianfranco Mazzaferro (Ferrolati Corse/Tonykart) completed the top five.

Nicastro converted his pole position to an early lead in the Final ahead of Kirkwood and and Munoz. Just past the half way marker Kirkwood was able to get the best of Nicastro taking the lead and sending Nicastro back to third. Nicastro would get second back from Munoz but once he took the spot back Kirkwood was already gone in the distance. Behind the lead trio was Mazzaferro and Healey who ran alone from green to checkers.

ROK Masters

Brazilian Eduardo Dieter (Techspeed) was the quickest in Rok Masters qualifying ahead of Adam Petit (PCR) and U.D Ramsey (PCR).

Dieter had to start last in the prefinal due to a post qualifyng technical failure but this didn’t hold him back as Dieter would drive through the field to take the Prefinal win. Second was Raul Costa (TonyKart) who came from fifth on the grid with Petit completing the top three.

Dieter was unstoppable in the Masters Final bringing home the win for Techspeed ahead of Costa and Francis Brun Wibuax (PCR). Ramsey and Petit completed the top five in an uneventful race.

To Top