Connect with us

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

Dany St. Hilaire Sweeps DD2 Masters Heats; PLO Earns Another in DD2

Latest News

Dany St. Hilaire Sweeps DD2 Masters Heats; PLO Earns Another in DD2

Saturday concluded the heat racing portion of the 2014 ASN Canada FIA Canadian Karting Championships as all classes returned to the track for their third and final heat race, with points tallied to set the grids for Sunday’s National Championship Finals.

It was a relaxed day at the Jim Russell Karting Academy in Mont-Tremblant held under sunny skies as the anticipation built for Sunday.

The day was completed by the Team Cup rental kart race where each team nominated two “non-drivers” to compete in a 10-lap dash. With the crowd on their feet, Team KMS came away with the victory over Team Energy Kart Canada and Team PSL Karting. It was a great way to cap off the day.

Rotax DD2 Masters

Heat 3
Dany St. Hilaire (PSL Karting/CRG) once again dominated in DD2 Masters.

He won the third and final heat on Saturday after taking the lead off the start then holding it until a red flag ended the race early. Francis Mondau (SH Racing/FA Kart) followed St-Hilaire by two kart lengths all race long to finish second in the heat. Martin Verville (PSL Karting/CRG) finished third and was running ahead Elvis Stojko (PRO/Intrepid) and Paul Carvalho (PSL Karting/CRG) when the two drivers collided bring out the red flag.

This would promote John Cariati (Goodwood/Intrepid) to fourth and Stuart Clark (Maranello North America/ Maranello) to fifth, after starting at the rear. However Stojko was reinstated to fourth after the results went back a lap.

With the sweeping of the heats, St-Hilaire and Mondou fill out row one for the Final on Sunday, with Etienne LaSalle (PSL-KCR/CRG) and Carvalho on row two. After qualifying on the pole, Clark will start down in eighth.

Unofficial Final Starting Grid:

1. Dany St. Hilaire 2. Francis Mondou
3. Etienne La Salle 4. Paul Carvalho
5. John Cariati 6. Martin Verville
7. Michel Legrand 8. Stuart Clark
9. Elvis Stojko 10. Joe Crupi
11. Laurent Boivin 12. Michael Brooks
13. Martin Colligan 14. Marc LaFlamme
15. David Nevin 16. Martin Janson

Rotax DD2


Pier-Luc Ouellette (Photo by: Cody Schindel/CKN)

Heat 3
Pier Luc Ouellette (KMS/Birel) grabbed the holeshot going into the first corner of heat three with Jeffrey Kingsley (PSL/CRG) slotting in right behind him.

Kingsley would remain behind the two-time Rotax Grand Finals champion for two laps until passing him for the lead in the hairpin.

The two drivers would stay in position until the hairpin on the last lap where PLO dove in to retake the lead. Tyler Kashak (Goodwood/Intrepid) finished in third ahead of Fred Woodley (Maranello North America/Maranello), who started last, as Brendon Bain (Maranello North America/Maranello) who completed the top five.

Later on Kingsley and Kashak would be disqualified with technical infractions putting them last in the heat, but ultimately not shaking up the heat race standings.

Unofficial Final Starting Grid:

1. Pier-Luc Ouellette 2. Jeffrey Kingsley
3. Alessandro Bizzotto 4. Fred Woodley
5. Brendon Bain 6. Bryce Choquer
7. Tyler Kashak 8. Max Preston
9. Dante Lerra 10. Dominic Legrand
11. Aaron Attard

Be sure to join the conversation on CKN Live to stay updated all day long and cheer on your favourite drivers in their National Finals.

To Top