Connect with us
Cup Karts Canada

CKN | | Because Karting is a way of Life!

Coltin McCaughan Wins Heat 3 in Rotax Senior; DeMelo on Pole for Final

Latest News

Coltin McCaughan Wins Heat 3 in Rotax Senior; DeMelo on Pole for Final

Saturday concluded the heat racing portion of the 2014 ASN Canada FIA Canadian Karting Championships as all classes returned to the track for their third and final heat race, with points tallied to set the grids for Sunday’s National Championship Finals.

It was a relaxed day at the Jim Russell Karting Academy in Mont-Tremblant held under sunny skies as the anticipation built for Sunday.

The day was completed by the Team Cup rental kart race where each team nominated two “non-drivers” to compete in a 10-lap dash. With the crowd on their feet, Team KMS came away with the victory over Team Energy Kart Canada and Team PSL Karting. It was a great way to cap off the day.

Rotax Senior

Heat 3
The inside row had a great start to heat three as Zachary Claman DeMelo (ZCD-Goodwood/Intrepid), Coltin McCaughan (CKN-SH Racing/FA Kart) and Marco Signoretti (Energy Kart Canada/Energy Kart) all made their way by Kevin Monteith (REM/Birel) through corner one.

McCaughan didn’t waste much time getting to the front as he dove to the inside of corner four on lap two, bringing Signoretti with him and demoting DeMelo to third. As the two behind him battled for second, McCaughan was able to pull away through the mid-stage and Monteith was able to join in the action.

An excellent battle for third would see Signoretti on defence and Monteith feeling pressured by Tommy Lemaire-Ouellet (PSL/CRG) and Olivier Bedard (PSL/CRG).

McCaughan wound up with the win, holding off a late charge from DeMelo with Signoretti hanging on for third. Lemaire worked by Monteith for fourth while Bedard settled for sixth behind Monteith at the line.

With the points tallied from the heats, DeMelo will lead the field to green on Sunday with SuperPole winner Bedard second. Signoretti will follow DeMelo on the inside of row two with McCaughan alongside and Monteith rounding out the top-five

With all eyes focused on Championship Sunday, Rotax Senior will be the first class to crown a National Champion with their Final scheduled for 12:30PM.

| Heat Race Results |

Unofficial Final Starting Grid:

1. Zachary Claman-DeMelo 2. Olivier Bédard
3. Marco Signoretti 4. Coltin McCaughan
5. Kevin Monteith 6. Christophe Paquet
7. Zacharie Scalzo 8. Marco Di Leo
9. Tommy Lemaire-Ouellet 10. Maxime Bussière
11. Alexandre Couturier 12. Anthony Tolfa
13. Didier Carré 14. Davide Greco
15. Jamie Lockwood 16. Chad Campbell
17. Jordan Redlin 18. Skylar Dunning
19. Maxime Couturier 20. David Laplante
21. Tristan Merke 22. Kieran Oxley
23. Arika White 24. Alessandro Bramucci

Be sure to join the conversation on CKN Live to stay updated all day long and cheer on your favourite drivers in their National Finals.

To Top